Throughout his life, Andrew has been recognized with various awards and distinctions for his academic and community accomplishments.  Some of these include:

2003 – Recipient of the Law Society of Upper Canada Award for Academic Excellence.

2002 – Recognized by the Ontario Community Council on Impaired Driving (OCCID) (now known as arrive alive DRIVE SOBER) for dedication and contributions to reduce impaired driving in Ontario.

2001 – Awarded the Charles J. Clark Q.C. Scholarship in Law by the Faculty of Law, University of Windsor for academic excellence and demonstrated involvement in community and volunteer activities.

1999 – Recipient of the Ontario Ministry of Transportation (MTO)’s Road Safety Achievement Award.  Created in the year 1996, this MTO award recognizes the outstanding contribution, leadership and dedication of individuals, community groups and organizations towards making Ontario’s roads safer.

Ontario Ministry of Transportation 1999 Road Safety Achievement Award (Andrew Sprague (then 22 years old) w Hon David Turnbull - Ontario Transportation Minister           Andrew Sprague in February 2000 addressing approx 400 people at gala luncheon at the Inn on the Park hotel (Toronto, Ontario) before receiving 1999 MTO Award

Past recipients of the award also include: (a) Brantford’s Safe Grad/Party Committee (comprised of members from police services, health units, and other community support agencies); (b) Canadian Automobile Association South Central Ontario (CAA SCO); (c) City of Ottawa’s Integrated Road Safety Program; (d) City of Toronto’s Bicycle Safety Partnership for its 2006 Kids CAN-BIKE Camp; (e) Central Algoma Road Safety (CARS) committee; (f) Dr. Robert Conn (widely respected children’s heart surgeon and founder of the Canadian Injury Prevention Foundation (later renamed SMARTRISK); (g) Gary Grant (member of the Governor General of Canada’s Order of Merit of the Police Forces and recipient of Canadian Association of Chief’s of Police/Transport Canada’s Lifetime Achievement Award for Traffic Safety); (h) Greater Sudbury Police Service’s Traffic Management Unit; (i) Insurance Brokers Association of Ontario (IBAO); (j) Insurance Bureau of Canada (IBC); (k) Kingston Partners for a Safe Community; (l) London Health Sciences Centre (LHSC)’s Trauma Program; (m) Sergeant Bob Paterson (17 years as an OPP officer and 15 years with Toronto Ambulance Service (now Toronto EMS)); (n) Regional Niagara Road Safety Committee; and (o) Town of Richmond Hill’s Road Watch Committee.

1999 – Recognized for his outstanding contributions and dedication to the Legal Resources Office at the Wilfrid Laurier University Students’ Union (WLUSU).  Over a period of three years, Andrew served as the Coordinator, the Assistant Coordinator and a Counselor.

1996 – Served as the President of the Optimist Club of Toronto.  At the time, it was believed that Andrew could have been the youngest Club President in the (then) 76 year history of Optimist International. Optimist International is an international service club organization founded in 1919, and, in 1995-1996, Optimist International had 4,172 clubs and 150,508 members in 7 countries throughout the world.  During his time as President of the Optimist Club of Toronto, Andrew continued to promote the ideals of youth leadership.

1996 – Recognized by Optimist International as an ‘Honour Club’ and he also received the Club President Golden Circle Recognition from the President of Optimist International for his efforts as President of the Optimist Club of Toronto.

1996 – Awarded the Youth Citizenship Award by Soroptimist International of Toronto (no affiliation with the Optimist Club of Toronto or Optimist International) in recognition of demonstrated responsible citizenship.

1996 – Awarded the Barry Campbell Parliamentary Award for demonstrated proficiency in the study of Canadian politics and interest and initiative in politics.

1989 – Junior High School Citizenship Award

1987 – Elementary School Citizenship Award